An adventure story lover turns to chick lit…

Inside this hardened, speculative fiction and historical fiction loving soul there is a chick lit book waiting to escape. I have the scenario in my head. I have characters semi-developed. I even have a killer opening (no, not literally, but that would be pretty awesome, if an entirely different genre).

Thing is, I don’t read chick lit. By and large, I don’t even read romances (I read stories where there are romantic relationships, but they aren’t the focus). In the last year, the most chicky-typical book I read was PS I Love You (Alexander McCall Smith’s books don’t count). By and large, my reading selections are more along the spy story, black comedy or classic route than traditionally girl books.

I’m not familiar with the genre. I really don’t want to read too many of the books within the genre–by and large they don’t appeal to me. But I have a story in my head that I must tell. I’m sure it will be filed away with countless other tales to be told, fermenting and biding its time until one day when it attacks me, springing forth with teeth bared, wearing designer stilettos.

4 thoughts on “An adventure story lover turns to chick lit…

  1. You should go ahead and write your story with absolutely no regard to the conventions of the genre. The breakout stories are the ones that head into new territory; writers who cleave closely to the genre are just adding more of the same. If your story is good, it doesn’t need the props and tropes of genre and convention. If it’s good, it will re-invent the genre. Don’t spoil your idea by squeezing it into a mold!

  2. I have a few chick lit stories in my head too. I agree that if you believe this story must be told then go ahead an write it. I am a researcher so I would take the time to learn the conventions of the genre even if I don’t decide to follow them. I have found that reading the genre I want to write helps me learn what to do and what not to do. Also, you might develop a different writer’s voice for this new genre. In the end it is up to you If you write a romance the ending does have to be happily ever after no exceptions.

    Good luck Beth! I hope you’ll share what you come up with.

  3. Thanks for the encouragement everyone! I definitely see this potential novel (or novels, as a friend and I have come up with an idea for another) being an entertaining change.

Leave a Reply

